NV200 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I bought a Curt brand hitch, model 13165 and bolted it up Friday, its a little challenging to get the bolts and such thru the frame but I work as a technician so it was just another job for me. If you dont work with your hands give yourself a few hours to install it.

Anyways, it bolted up, I wired in a trailer plug, thats tricky also because the brake lights are only 11.6 volts, but the tail lights are 13.7. I bought a wiring separator to cross the bridge of having separate brake and turn signals. Then I had to go to LED trailer lights as they will work on the 11.6 volt circuit and incorporate different LEDs for the brake and tail lights, if that makes sense to you. They do make a exact trailer harness for like $80, but that goes against my frugalness and my technical ability soars beyond spending money I can save by figuring things out on my own.

Also I went to buy a trailer Saturday, I was gonna get a all aluminum one for almost $2000, however my frugalness again played a role. My wife likes to get mulch once or twice a year, and why ruin a nice trailer hauling mulch and dirt when I can get a pre-delapidated one much cheaper. I picked up a 5 by 8 all steel trailer for $600 used lightly including the paperwork. Then I had to get the LEDs and light module for $60, so I still saved some coin there. And to boot, this all steel trailer is lightweight, it weighs 375 pounds, so I have another 1600 of hauling ability with it. I used it today and it hauls great, empty you dont even know the trailer is there, except the hitch/receiver rattle you hear once in a while. Once we put a scoop of mulch in it the hitch noise was gone completely. The van does show its lack of HP with the trailer full, but it still does the job and doesnt feel over worked in the least.