NV200 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Thinking of purchasing an NV 200 but wanted to get a sense of how well it does in the winter.

1. I routinely drive on snowy roads, and wondering if this van has enough clearance. Can anyone let me know their experience driving through snow, or even rough (dirt) roads given the low clearance?

2. Are winter tires reasonably easy to find for this van's tire size? (Note - I live in Canada)

Any information is appreciated.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Hi Ian, Up-state NY here and winter is snowy. Also I work construction and frequently drive dirt roads and on job sites.
My NV200 is a 2015 with 20K and I have driven 1 and a half winters in this van.
Also I am a careful driver, I don't like to hear or feel my vehicle complaining about road conditions so I don't mind taking my time.

I can only compare my experience with a FWD VW Passat I was driving which handled itself fairly well in these conditions.
Having said that, the biggest issue I face with the NV200 is the ground clearance. I have to pay attention to the ground conditions when I am driving on job sites.
In the snow the NV200 has it's limitations. I am careful when a storm is blowing and the possibilities of the plows not keeping up, but I think in most cars one would have to careful too. I have to say I felt more confident in the Passat.

However, job site access and job sites where I can pick my way in and take my time in the snow the NV200 has done well. I think that the skinny tires actually dig down into the snow for grip rather than sliding along like a wider tire might. Of course you are limited with the low clearance, not many cars can push snow with their bumpers!